LeicestershireLive

Full list of winners announced at annual Leicestershire Law Society Awards

The awards ceremony took place at Athena on May 20, and saw over 400 guests in attendance to celebrate Leicestershire's legal firms and individuals



Leicestershire Law Society held their first in-person awards night in over two years on Friday, May 20, 2022, hosted by its president, and medical negligence solicitor of Nelsons, Matthew Olner.

The event was held at the fabulous Grade II-listed venue, Athena, in the heart of Leicester's cultural quarter.

Guests were welcomed into the 1950s theme night, with a drinks reception, entertainment by the Blue's Irregulars and Cristina Ruiz from the University of Leicester singing a rendition of Hallelujah, and charity casino tables and photo opportunities, whilst networking and forming new relationships.

The president thanked all the society's patrons, business partners, sponsors, volunteers, and the society manager and event organiser Kauser Patel.

President Matthew Olner said: "We also thank the management and staff of Athena for their support and their hospitality.

"Thank you also to our awards judging panel who every year have the difficult job to review, judge and decide on the winners.

"There was a great turnout with upwards of 400 guests from the local legal and business community, including our high sheriff and eminent judges. The evening celebrated legal excellence across Leicestershire.

"There was also wonderful food, live music, singing, and additional entertainment with casino tables and games to raise money for my charity for the year Leicester Children's Holidays.

"Congratulations to all those shortlisted and congratulations to our worthy winners."

List of winners

Barrister of the Year – Emma Burden of 2 New Street Chambers

Chambers of the Year – KCH Garden Square

Junior Solicitor of the Year, sponsored by the University of Leicester – Kayleigh Brown of Wilson Browne Solicitors

Large Law Firm of the Year, sponsored by The 36 Group – Weightmans

Small Law Firm of the Year, Sponsored by KCH Garden Square – Josiah Hincks

Solicitor of the Year – Parvien Akhtar of Bright Legal Solicitors

Support Staff of the Year – Stan Owens of Hollingsworths Solicitors

Trainee/Paralegal of the Year, sponsored by De Montfort University – Connie Kitchener of Affinity Law